Book Review | All I Want for Christmas

31691157

Title: All I Want for Christmas by Jenny Hale

Pages: 233

Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit

Published by: Bookouture (Oct. 6, 2016)

Summary

All I Want for Christmas is a big, cozy Christmas story about the importance of family, the strength of childhood friendships, and learning to trust your heart.

Fans of Carole Matthews, Susan Wiggs and Susan Mallery – and anyone who likes the glow of Christmas lights and the rustle of wrapping paper – will fall in love with this feel-good Christmas treat.

Christmas comes once a year . . . But true love comes once in a lifetime.

Snowflakes are falling, there’s carol singing on every corner, and Leah Evans is preparing for a family Christmas at her grandmother’s majestic plantation house in Virginia. It won’t be the same now that her beloved Nan is gone, but when Leah discovers she has inherited the mansion, she knows she can give her daughter Sadie the childhood of her dreams.

But there’s a catch. Leah must split the house with a man called David Forester. Leah hasn’t heard that name in a long time. Not since they were kids, when Davey was always there to catch her.

Now David is all grown up. He’s gorgeous, successful, and certain of one thing: Leah should sell him her half of the house.

They can’t agree, but as they share memories over wine by the log fire, Leah notices a fluttering in her stomach. And by the look in his eyes, he’s starting to feel it too.

Will it be Leah or David who must give up their dreams? Or, with a little bit of Christmas magic, will they finally understand Nan’s advice to them both about living life without regrets … and take a chance on true love?

Goodreads

What I Thought

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review.  A huge thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture!*

As someone who is obsessed with all those Hallmark Christmas movies, when I saw All I Want for Christmas, I just knew it was going to be the perfect book to kick off the holiday season.  It definitely was, too!

The best word I could use to describe this book would be “sweet.” The characters, the setting, really, everything about this book was sweet and Christmas-y.  My favorite part  would probably have to be the setting, though.  I could not get enough of the descriptions of Nan’s house.  Can somebody please tell me I inherited a house like that?!

Another thing I really loved were the friendships Leah shared.  I found the relationships that she shared with her two close friends to be so strong and realistic, and I really appreciated that.  Her, daughter, Sadie, was so cute, and I loved how Leah constantly put Sadie’s well-being first in all of her decisions.

While I did like David, honestly, I felt a little something missing between Leah and him.  Their relationship felt a bit too insta-lovey for me.  I get that they were friends when they were kids, so that bond was already there, but I would have just preferred to see a little more growth and development in their relationship.

All in all, this was a fun, Christmas-y book!  I would definitely recommend it to fans of Hallmark movies and happy endings.  Like I said earlier, this book is sweet…just like a candy cane.  Also, just like a candy cane, while it is delicious and fun, there’s not a whole lot of substance to it.  Which is why I’m rating it only 3 stars – not because I did not like it enough for more, but because I feel like that’s what is.   Just like candy canes are a fun and enjoyable, that doesn’t mean I can only eat candy canes (am I even making sense anymore?? haha).   All I Want for Christmas is a fun, Christmas treat!


Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Litsy (@thecalicobooks)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s