Book Review | The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott + Product Review

9466118 (1).jpg

Title: The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees

Pages: 376

Genres: Historical Fiction, Romance

Published by: Berkley (May 3rd, 2011)

Summary

A richly imagined, remarkably written story of the woman who created Little Women– and how love changed her in ways she never expected.

Deftly mixing fact and fiction, Kelly O’Connor McNees returns to the summer of 1855, when vivacious Louisa May Alcott is twenty-two and bursting to free herself from family and societal constraints and do what she loves most. Stuck in small-town New Hampshire, she meets Joseph Singer, and as she opens her heart, Louisa finds herself torn between a love that takes her by surprise and her dream of independence as a writer in Boston. The choice she must make comes with a steep price that she will pay for the rest of her life.

The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott

 

What I Thought

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review. I huge thanks to Sullivan Entertainment!*

As someone who grew up in a family with three other sisters, and all four of us are quite close, Little Women has always been very relatable to me.  So, when I got the chance to read about the author of such a relatable book, I was quite intrigued.  The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott is fiction, but the family dynamics is all based on the life of the real Louisa May Alcott.  Just like Jo, Louisa May Alcott was the second sister of four and aspired to be a writer.  This book features a 22 year old Louisa who is filled with big dreams and just waiting for her chance.

I absolutely loved all of the characters! Honestly, these characters were so relatable, and probably my favorite part of this novel.  I’m 23, and from the relationship Louisa shares with her sisters and parents to relationship with her friends and hopes for the future,  I found myself relating so much to the situations that Louisa and her sisters and friends were going through.  I completely fell in love with Joseph and Louisa’s story, as well.  Joseph is probably one of my favorite love interests of this year, so far!

The writing in this novel was also so beautiful.  It was written in such a way that reminded me of some of my favorite classics, like Anne of Green Gables and Little Women.  I just loved it!

I never wanted to stop reading this book.  It was one of those books that were just so comfortably paced.  The story line was superb.  I also loved reading the parallels between the Alcott sisters and the March sisters.

Overall, I ended up loving this book way more than I expected.  It was an absolutely lovely read.  While it was a bit heartbreaking, it also left me feeling inspired.  I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Little Women, as well as anyone else who loves books with those classic heroines who have hope and believe.

4 stars 2


Today, I also wanted to share with you all another Louisa May Alcott-inspired item.  Sullivan Entertainment was kind enough to include this beautiful necklace, featuring this quote by Louisa May Alcott, along with The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott.

IMG_0451.JPG

I am completely in love with it!  Not only is this quote perfect for my life, but the necklace is so nicely made.  The chain and pendant are very sturdy and strong as well.  I would highly recommend it!

To find this and other wonderful products be sure to check out Shop at Sullivan!


Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Litsy (@thecalicobooks)

Buy from:

The Book Depository

2 thoughts on “Book Review | The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott + Product Review

Leave a Reply

