Book Review | Everything Everything

18692431 (1).jpg

Title: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Pages: 310

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Published by: Delacorte Books for Young Readers (Sept. 1, 2015)

Summary

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Everything, Everything

 

What I Thought

Everything Everything is one of those books that has been on my TBR for years, that I just never got around to reading.  Well, with the movie coming out (I think it’s already out now?!), and me getting it as a gift from my grandma for my birthday, I knew it was finally time to read it.  I’m so glad I did, too!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I feel like Everything Everything is one of those books where you either love it, or it completely disappoints you, and for me, luckily, I was in the first category.  I really loved the writing style in this novel.  Not only does the regular writing just flow so nicely, but some of the text is filled with emails, IMs and pictures.  With those little extras, I could really get inside Maddy’s head. I was completely absorbed in this book from the moment I picked it up to the moment I finished it. I never wanted to stop reading!

The diversity in this novel was also greatly appreciated.  It was so great to read about such diverse characters that were actually the leads in the story, as opposed to just a side character that we don’t really get to know.  Maddy is African-American/Japanese, and it was really refreshing to see someone like that as the main character, instead of just the main character’s friend.

Maddy and Olly’s relationship was another thing I loved.  It was so, so cute and sweet.  The relationship that Maddy shared with her nurse, Carla, was also so nice.  I absolutely loved Carla!  Their friendship just felt so genuine and honest.

That being said, while I loved this book, not everyone does.  Lately, I’ve been seeing some fellow book lovers sharing the problematic side to this book, and the inaccuracies involving SCID (Maddy’s illness), and I thought I should mention it.  I’ll be honest, I didn’t see the issues when I read Everything Everything, but also, I do not have SCID, and do not know much about this illness, so I can’t speak for whether or not SCID was appropriately portrayed.  I recently read a review on Goodreads, by someone that actually has a similar illness, that highlights the issues people have with this book really well though.  Please be warned that the review does have spoilers.

Overall though, I really enjoyed this book.  Is it perfect? No, but it was very entertaining to read and I had a great reading experience with this book.  I’m super excited to see the movie, too!  From what I’ve seen from trailers and the cast, it looks like it’s going to be a really great movie.  I would recommend this book to fans of contemporary novels, especially to those who are hopeless romantics!

4 stars 2


Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Litsy (@thecalicobooks)

Buy from:

The Book Depository

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Everything Everything

Leave a Reply

