Top Ten Tuesday

top ten tuesday

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again!  It’s a weekly bookish list created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books of 2017 (So far!)

In order of read date:

The You I’ve Never Known by Ellen Hopkins

30312837

This was the first book by Ellen Hopkins that I had ever read, and it was so good!  It was so raw, emotional, and beautifully written.  I loved the intertwining of verse and prose, which helped to perfectly tell this story.

Check out my full review!

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

8621462.jpg

I  admit, I was a little hesitant to read this book.  The only other book I’ve read by Patrick Ness is The Rest of Us Just Live Here, and I ended up not loving it.  So, I was afraid I might not love his writing style.  Plus, A Monster Calls has received so much praise and hype, I was afraid it wouldn’t live up to it for me.  That being said, this book was so gorgeous!  I fell completely in love.  This book broke my heart in the very best way possible, and I highly recommend it.

Check out my full review!

Replica by Lauren Oliver

replica.jpg

This book was so good!  I love Lauren Oliver’s writing, so I was excited to read Replica to begin with, but it ended up being even better than I expected!  I loved how creative this book was, and the dual perspective was exactly what this novel needed.  I cannot wait to read the sequel coming out this fall!

Check out my full review!

 

 

 

 

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753.jpg

 

I had read a few of her short stories, but this was my first time reading one of Rainbow Rowell’s full novels, and I loved it!  I think it’s safe to say that I am a Rainbow Rowell fan.  I loved the writing, the story, the characters, everything.  I’m so glad I finally read Eleanor & Park!

Check out my full review!

 

 

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431 (1)

Everything Everything is another book that has been so hyped up, that I didn’t know if I would like it or not.  Sometimes super hyped books end up disappointing me.  I ended up loving this one, though!  It was so well-paced, creative, and I just loved reading this book.

Check out my full review!

 

 

 

 

 

The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott by Kelly O’Connor McNees

9466118.jpgI had only recently discovered this book, and I hadn’t heard a lot about it, so I really didn’t know if I was going to enjoy it or not.  It sounded really intriguing though, and I’m so glad I gave it a chance.  The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott completely exceeded any expectations I may have had.  It was just so lovely, and I loved everything about it.  This book deserves to be more well known!

Check out my full review!

 

 

 

Angel Eyes by Shannon Dittemore

11836562

Honestly, this whole series is incredible.  The Angel Eyes series is such an adventure from start to finish!  It’s one of those books that has a little bit of everything: action, adventure, mystery, romance, angels & demons, ballet – it truly has it all!

Check out my full review!

 

 

 

 

 

Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

29358487.jpg

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is one of my absolute favorite series!  So, obviously, Tales of the Peculiar, was on my TBR the second this book was announced.  It’s a collection of peculiar fairy tales, and it’s such a fun read!  The tales were so whimsical, and if you’re a Miss Peregrine fan, this book is a must-have!

I don’t have my review for this one posted yet, but check it out on Goodreads!

 

 

 

Holes by Louis Sachar

38709

I loved this book!  I’ve always been a fan of the movie, and so this book has been on my TBR for quite a while now.  So I’m so glad I finally read this one.  The story is just so well thought out and creative.  I wish I had read this book when I was a kid, because younger me would have loved Holes so much.  No matter the age, though, this book was really fantastic!

Check out my full review!

 

 

 

My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman

23604559.jpg

This book was so enjoyable! I’ve heard so many good things about not only this author, but this book specifically, so I was really looking forward to reading this one.  I loved the writing style, and the characters were all so unique. I cannot wait to read more of Fredrik Backman’s books!

I don’t have my review for this one posted yet, but check it out on Goodreads!

 

 

 

 

 


So, those are 10 of the best books I’ve read, so far, for 2017!  Let me know which books have been your favorite for this year. 🙂


Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Litsy (@thecalicobooks)

Buy from:

The Book Depository

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Adoptabookaus says:

    I ADORE Holes, I read it when I was in primary school and still love to re-read it, so glad it made your list! A Monster Calls is hauntingly good the tone, the illustrations, the monster and his stories I loved the entire thing so much!
    I’ve seen the Ellen Hopkins book around and have it on my TBR going to push it up more now that it’s made it to your top faves 🙂 Great list ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Theresa @ TheCalicoBooks says:

      Holes is definitely a book I plan on re-reading, too (I low-key wanted to re-read after I finished it 😜)! I’m so glad you enjoyed Holes and A Monster Calls, too!
      I highly recommend The You I’ve Never Known! It was so much better than I anticipated. 👍🏼
      Thank you! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

