Book Review | The Coronation

the coronationTitle: The Coronation (Tales of Tarsurella#1) by Livy Jarmusch

Pages: 460

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Christian

Summary

Prince Addison is only several weeks away from inheriting the Kingdom of Tarsurella. The entire Palace is ablaze with excitement, as the Royal Family prepares for the event of a lifetime. Despite the exciting event which is near at hand, Addison and his younger siblings (all seven of them!) must carry on with their daily activities.

Addison’s sisters, Princesses Bridget, Chasity, and Hope, have their struggles with being iconic European starlets of a modern day monarchy. The teen heiresses grace magazine covers, smile for photoshoots, and gracefully glide through important interviews–until a certain American popstar arrives on the scene. Kennetic Energy, the wildly popular band from the United States, is chosen to play at Addison’s Coronation. David Carter, the band’s handsome lead singer, fumbles through awkward moments with Princess Hope–in front of the cameras. When an embarrassing rumor sparks that Princess Hope is dating the young fellow, she is determined to get the band fired from their Royal gig.

Meanwhile, Princess Chasity is dealing with her own fragile affairs of the heart. Her new security guard, Hanson Fletcher, is completely captivating, yet entirely frustrating. She attempts to keep the entrance of her heart firmly protected, while following the wisdom of Proverbs 4:23. But can she be successful in guarding her heart, from her security guard?

The Coronation (Tales of Tarsurella #1)

What I Thought

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review. A big thank you to the author!*

Going into this book, I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I knew it was about a royal family from the fictional, European country, Tarsurella, and that it was faith-based, and that was it.  So, as I started to read it, I was instantly intrigued with the plot, and I had no idea how intense this story was going to get!

One of my favorite things about this novel was the setting. It’s been so long since I’ve read a good royalty story, and The Coronation had all the best parts of one. I loved how it was set in modern day, yet Tarsurella itself was so enchanting and, at places, just like a good, old-fashioned fairytale.

Another thing I loved about The Coronation was the characters. The royal family is rather large, so I was worried I would have trouble keeping track of everyone, but once again, Livy Jarmusch has managed to create such unique characters, that I had no trouble keeping track of not only the entire royal family, but every other character as well. Everybody had their own unique personality and style, and I loved that! I also appreciated how firm in their faith some of the characters were. Several of the characters’ faith and hope in God was so inspiring and encouraging. This book definitely reminded me of a cleaner, yet more dramatic/action packed, Christian-based Princess Diaries, which made me so excited!

I’m also looking forward to seeing where the budding romances will lead as the series continues. There are so many cute moments between certain characters already. Despite how much I love all the potential relationships, I also loved the emphasis placed on the fact that you don’t need a boyfriend/girlfriend to complete you.

One thing I didn’t care for in this book, however, was the stereotypical portrayal of Muslims and Middle Easterners. It was disappointing and did not sit well with me that the only characters of that religion and ethnicity that were in this book were portrayed as villains and extremely evil.

Overall, though, I really did enjoy this book! The Coronation was such an adventure, and I can’t wait to read its sequel, The Rebellion! I would recommend this novel to anyone look for a fun and adventurous book. It’s also perfect for fans of Meg Cabot, who are looking for a cleaner, faith-filled alternative.

4 stars 2


Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ | Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads | Litsy (@thecalicobooks)

Buy from:

The Book Depository

(I receive a tiny commission if you follow my BD links!)

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Book Review | The Coronation

Leave a Reply to Jessica @ The Book Bratz Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s