Books That Remind Me of Spring!

1

Hello! It is day two of me hosting Bookending Spring 2019!  Lately, the weather has been so beautiful and it has really been putting me in that springtime mood.  So, for today’s post, I’m sharing with you all some of my favorite books that remind me of spring!

Some of these books remind of spring because of the content, others just because of their pretty covers.  Either way, just thinking about these books makes me think of spring!

Continue reading

Easter Time Book Tag!

Easter Time book tag (1).png

Hey everyone! I am so incredibly excited because today is my first day as host for Bookending Spring 2019!  Starting today, and going through Wednesday, I’ll be sharing some super fun and springy posts.

For today’s prompt, I’m going to be doing an original tag that I’m calling the Easter Time Book Tag!  This is my first time doing a tag, and I’m super excited to share it with you all, and hopefully you’ll join in on the fun and do this, too!

Continue reading

Book Review | Five Feet Apart

five feet apart.jpgTitle: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis

Pages: 288

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018)

Summary

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Five Feet Apart

what i thought

After seeing so many people talk about this book on Bookstagram, and then seeing the movie trailer, I just knew I had to read Five Feet Apart!  Going into this book, I didn’t know how this story was going to play out, I just knew it would break my heart.  Let me just say that this book did not disappoint!

Continue reading

Book Review | Regal Hearts: Season Two | Blog Tour + Giveaway!

completion.png

Hey everyone! Today I am so excited to share my review of Regal Hearts: Season Two by Livy Jarmusch. I read Season One a while back and really loved, so I was so excited jump back into this series!

Be sure to read to the end of the post, because I’m also sharing how you can enter to win an autographed copy of Season One, and you will not want to miss it!


regalheartsseasontwo.jpgTitle: Regal Hearts: Season Two by Livy Jarmusch

Pages: 437

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Christian

Publisher: CreateSpace (Jan. 28th, 2019)

Summary

Following the unexpected revelation of her regal heritage, Lena Bodner must travel to Tarsurella in search of allies. Rebuilding a broken nation is no small task. But now it’s up to Lena to convince her sisters to help. Will they learn to work together in love and unity? Will they rise to become the world-changers they were meant to be? Or will their nation crumble apart, as a wicked dictator overthrows their courage?

Regal Hearts Season Two is the continuation of an exciting story written in a unique “TV Show” format. Livy has been releasing these digital-book episodes on a weekly basis, but now you can read Season 2 (10 Episodes) all at once!

Regal Hearts: Season Two

what i thought

*I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  A huge thank you to the author!*

After reading Season One of Regal Hearts, I was absolutely hooked on Livy Jarmusch’s writing!  Since first reading season one back in late 2017, I’ve also read and loved The Coronation and The Rebellion (a companion series).  Because of this, I was so excited for the chance to review season two!  And I am so delighted to say that this season did not disappoint!

Continue reading

Book Review | Girl, Wash Your Face

girl wash your face.jpgTitle: Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis

Pages: 240

Genres: Nonfiction, Self-help

Publisher: Thomas Nelson (Feb. 6th, 2018)

Summary

With wry wit and hard-earned wisdom, popular online personality and founder of TheChicSite.com founder Rachel Hollis helps readers break free from the lies keeping them from the joy-filled and exuberant life they are meant to have.

Founder of the lifestyle website TheChicSite.com and CEO of her own media company, Chic Media, Rachel Hollis has created an online fan base of hundreds of thousands of fans by sharing tips for living a better life while fearlessly revealing the messiness of her own. Now comes her highly anticipated first book featuring her signature combination of honesty, humor, and direct, no-nonsense advice.

Each chapter of Girl, Wash Your Face begins with a specific lie Hollis once believed that left her feeling overwhelmed, unworthy, or ready to give up. As a working mother, a former foster parent, and a woman who has dealt with insecurities about her body and relationships, she speaks with the insight and kindness of a BFF, helping women unpack the limiting mind-sets that destroy their self-confidence and keep them from moving forward.

From her temporary obsession with marrying Matt Damon to a daydream involving hypnotic iguanas to her son’s request that she buy a necklace to “be like the other moms,” Hollis holds nothing back. With unflinching faith and tenacity, Hollis spurs other women to live with passion and hustle and to awaken their slumbering goals.

Girl, Wash Your Face: Stop Believing the Lies about Who You Are So You Can Become Who You Were Meant to Be

what i thought

After hearing so much hype about Girl, Wash Your Face, I was so intrigued.  It’s not the type of book I typically read, but since it was the January pick for the Book Lovers Book Club, I was excited to give it a read and see what I thought!

Continue reading

March TBR!

March TBR.png

Hello!  I know we’re already a few days into March, but today I’m going to be talking about my March TBR!  Last month, I read a few great books, but unfortunately, I didn’t get to read as many of them as I would have liked.  So, I’m trying again in March – with a few more additions as well!

Continue reading