Book Review | Five Feet Apart

five feet apart.jpgTitle: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis

Pages: 288

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018)

Summary

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Five Feet Apart

what i thought

After seeing so many people talk about this book on Bookstagram, and then seeing the movie trailer, I just knew I had to read Five Feet Apart!  Going into this book, I didn’t know how this story was going to play out, I just knew it would break my heart.  Let me just say that this book did not disappoint!

Continue reading

Advertisements

Book Review | Never Let Go | Blog Tour + Giveaway

banner_neverletgo_blogjr

Welcome to the Blog Tour for Never Let Go, the first book in the Uncommon Justice series by Elizabeth Goddard with JustRead Publicity Tours!

9780800729844Title: Never Let Go (Uncommon Justice #1) by  Elizabeth Goddard

Pages: 368

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Publisher: Revell (Feb. 5th, 2019)

The case may be cold, but things are about to heat up.

Forensic genealogist Willow Anderson is following in her late grandfather’s footsteps in her quest for answers about a baby abducted from a hospital more than twenty years ago. When someone makes an attempt on Willow’s life to keep her from discovering the truth, help will come from an unexpected source.Ex-FBI agent–and Willow’s ex-flame–Austin McKade readily offers to protect the woman he never should have let get away. Together they’ll followwhere the clues lead them, even if it means Austin must face the past he’s spent much of his life trying to forget–and put Willow’s tender heart at risk.

what i thought

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own. A huge thank to the publisher, author, and Just Read Tours!*

As soon as I read the synopsis for Never Let Go, I just knew I was going to love this book.  I’m so happy to say it did not disappoint, either.  This was my first Elizabeth Goddard book, but after reading this one, it definitely won’t be my last!

Continue reading

Book Review | All in Pieces

all in pieces.jpgTitle: All in Pieces by Suzanne Young

Pages: 259

Genres: YA, Contemporary

Published by: Simon Pulse (Nov. 8th, 2016)

Summary

“Anger-management issues.”

That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center.

The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far more bleak. Savvy’s struggling to take care of her brother since her mom left years ago, and her alcoholic dad can’t be bothered. Life with Evan is a constant challenge, but he’s also the most important person in the world to Savvy.

Then there’s Cameron, a new student at Brooks with issues of his own, a guy from a perfect family that Savvy thought only existed on TV. Cameron seems determined to break through every one of the walls Savvy’s built around herself—except if she lets herself trust him, it could make everything she’s worked so hard for fall apart in an instant.

And with her aunt seeking custody of her brother and her ex-boyfriend seeking revenge, Savvy’s fighting to hold all the pieces together. But she’s not sure how much tighter she can be pulled before she breaks completely.

All in Pieces
what i thought
I received All in Pieces for Christmas from my TBTB Secret Santa, Andi, this past year, and I was so excited!  I absolutely loved Hotel Ruby and The Program by Suzanne Young, so even though this book seemed very different from those two, I had no doubt I would love this one as well.  I’m happy to say that it did not disappoint either!

Continue reading

February TBR!

February TBR.png

Hey everyone! I know I’m a few days late, but today I’m going to be sharing some of the books I’m hoping to read this month!  Last month, I didn’t finish as many books as I would have hoped, so I have some pretty high hopes for February.  I don’t always set monthly TBR’s, but I’ve decided to try it out for a while and see how it goes. 🙂

Continue reading

December/January Wrap-Up!

monthly wrapup

Hello! It’s been nearly a month since I’ve last written on here, but I am back!  January was just a busy month for me, and I didn’t end up having a whole lot of time for blogging. I also attempted to read through the entire Bible in a month, and so because of that, I didn’t have a whole lot of time for reading other books either.  I’m not quite done with the Bible, or the other two books I’m reading, Rebecca and Girl, Wash Your Face, so I’ve decided to just include those in my February wrap-up.

In December, however, I read four books!

Continue reading

Blogmas Book Quote | Ring Out, Wild Bells

Hello! It’s time for one final Blogmas Book Quote in 2018. Today’s quote comes from the poem Ring Out, Wild Bells by Alfred Lord Tennyson, which is found in A Vintage Christmas.

I love how this quote really captures how so many of us are feeling on December 31st!


“Ring out the old, ring in the new,
Ring, happy bells, across the snow:
The year is going, let him go;
Ring out the false, ring in the true.”

~ Alfred Lord Tennyson, Ring Out, Wild Bells


Happy New Year! Here’s to an amazing 2019! 🥂🎉

 


Follow me on:

Bloglovin’ | Instagram Twitter Facebook Goodreads | Litsy (@thecalicobooks)

Buy from:

The Book Depository

(I receive a tiny commission if you follow my BD links!)

#TBTBSanta Unboxing 2018!

unboxing

Hello everyone!  I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas (if you celebrate; if not, I hope you’ve been having a wonderful week)!  My holiday was absolutely lovely, filled with family, food, fun, and memories. 🎄  Last week, I received my package from my TBTB Secret Santa!  It turns out, my Secret Santa was Andi @ Andi’s ABCs, and oh my goodness, did she spoil me so!! 💕  Today I’ll be sharing all the lovely goodies she gifted me with!

Continue reading