Book Review | Where the Crawdads Sing

where the crawdads singTitle: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Page: 384

Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons (Aug. 14th, 2018)

Summary

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Where the Crawdads Sing

what i thoughtThis book. This book!! I don’t even know where to begin when it comes to reviewing Where the Crawdads Sing.  I’ll be honest, I only read this book because everyone on Bookstagram talked about this book daily.  I barely even knew what it was about, but I knew it must be good because the library waiting list was huge!! 😂  Where the Crawdads Sing was one of the best books I’ve read in a very, very long time.  It is truly deserving of every ounce of hype and praise it has received!

Continue reading

Advertisements

Top Ten Favorite Books Quotes I’ve Read this Year

Top Ten Tuesday new

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again!  It’s a weekly bookish list hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s topic is:

Favorite Book Quotes I’ve Read this Year

I love quotes!  A good quote can really speak to you and stick with you through life.    It’s so hard for me to pick favorites, though.  So, to give myself less stress, I’ve decided to only include quotes from books I’ve read this year!

So, here we go:

Continue reading

March Wrap-Up!

monthly wrapup

Hello! Today I’m back with another extremely late wrap-up.  Yup, that’s not a typo, it may be nearly May, but I’m finally sharing my March wrap-up. 🙈  For the past few months, I feel like I’ve been in this weird reading and blogging slump, where I want to read and blog and then I just do other things instead.  I’m ready to push through that, though, so hopefully the rest of the year will be better.

Anyway!

In March I read three books.

Continue reading

Spring Bookshelf Decor!

Spring Bookshelf Decor.png

Okay everyone, today is my third and final day as host for Bookending Spring 2019!  While I’m super sad it’s my last day as a host, today’s prompt is going to be so much fun!  Today we are talking all about our bookshelves.  I don’t know about you, but I love decorating my bookshelves – especially now that the weather is getting warmer and spring is in the air!  I definitely get the spring cleaning bug, y’all.

So, here we go!

Continue reading

Books That Remind Me of Spring!

1

Hello! It is day two of me hosting Bookending Spring 2019!  Lately, the weather has been so beautiful and it has really been putting me in that springtime mood.  So, for today’s post, I’m sharing with you all some of my favorite books that remind me of spring!

Some of these books remind of spring because of the content, others just because of their pretty covers.  Either way, just thinking about these books makes me think of spring!

Continue reading

Book Review | Five Feet Apart

five feet apart.jpgTitle: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis

Pages: 288

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018)

Summary

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Five Feet Apart

what i thought

After seeing so many people talk about this book on Bookstagram, and then seeing the movie trailer, I just knew I had to read Five Feet Apart!  Going into this book, I didn’t know how this story was going to play out, I just knew it would break my heart.  Let me just say that this book did not disappoint!

Continue reading

Book Review | Regal Hearts: Season Two | Blog Tour + Giveaway!

completion.png

Hey everyone! Today I am so excited to share my review of Regal Hearts: Season Two by Livy Jarmusch. I read Season One a while back and really loved, so I was so excited jump back into this series!

Be sure to read to the end of the post, because I’m also sharing how you can enter to win an autographed copy of Season One, and you will not want to miss it!


regalheartsseasontwo.jpgTitle: Regal Hearts: Season Two by Livy Jarmusch

Pages: 437

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Christian

Publisher: CreateSpace (Jan. 28th, 2019)

Summary

Following the unexpected revelation of her regal heritage, Lena Bodner must travel to Tarsurella in search of allies. Rebuilding a broken nation is no small task. But now it’s up to Lena to convince her sisters to help. Will they learn to work together in love and unity? Will they rise to become the world-changers they were meant to be? Or will their nation crumble apart, as a wicked dictator overthrows their courage?

Regal Hearts Season Two is the continuation of an exciting story written in a unique “TV Show” format. Livy has been releasing these digital-book episodes on a weekly basis, but now you can read Season 2 (10 Episodes) all at once!

Regal Hearts: Season Two

what i thought

*I received an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  All thoughts and opinions are my own.  A huge thank you to the author!*

After reading Season One of Regal Hearts, I was absolutely hooked on Livy Jarmusch’s writing!  Since first reading season one back in late 2017, I’ve also read and loved The Coronation and The Rebellion (a companion series).  Because of this, I was so excited for the chance to review season two!  And I am so delighted to say that this season did not disappoint!

Continue reading

Book Review | All in Pieces

all in pieces.jpgTitle: All in Pieces by Suzanne Young

Pages: 259

Genres: YA, Contemporary

Published by: Simon Pulse (Nov. 8th, 2016)

Summary

“Anger-management issues.”

That’s how they classified Savannah Sutton after she stuck a pencil in her ex-boyfriend’s hand because he mocked her little brother, Evan, for being disabled. That’s why they sent her to Brooks Academy—an alternative high school that’s used as a temporary detention center.

The days at Brooks are miserable, but at home, life is far more bleak. Savvy’s struggling to take care of her brother since her mom left years ago, and her alcoholic dad can’t be bothered. Life with Evan is a constant challenge, but he’s also the most important person in the world to Savvy.

Then there’s Cameron, a new student at Brooks with issues of his own, a guy from a perfect family that Savvy thought only existed on TV. Cameron seems determined to break through every one of the walls Savvy’s built around herself—except if she lets herself trust him, it could make everything she’s worked so hard for fall apart in an instant.

And with her aunt seeking custody of her brother and her ex-boyfriend seeking revenge, Savvy’s fighting to hold all the pieces together. But she’s not sure how much tighter she can be pulled before she breaks completely.

All in Pieces
what i thought
I received All in Pieces for Christmas from my TBTB Secret Santa, Andi, this past year, and I was so excited!  I absolutely loved Hotel Ruby and The Program by Suzanne Young, so even though this book seemed very different from those two, I had no doubt I would love this one as well.  I’m happy to say that it did not disappoint either!

Continue reading