April Wrap-Up!

monthly wrapup

Hi friends! Today I’m back with my April wrap-up, and in true Theresa fashion, we’re already halfway through May.  Will I ever post a wrap-up on time? Who knows! Stay tuned…😂

As you all can probably guess from my lack of blog posts last month, I didn’t have a great reading month either.  I ended up only reading two books.  I realize that’s still two books to celebrate, but I was hoping for more.  Regardless, I really enjoyed both of the books I read last month!

Continue reading

Book Review | Where the Crawdads Sing

where the crawdads singTitle: Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Page: 384

Publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons (Aug. 14th, 2018)

Summary

For years, rumors of the “Marsh Girl” have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life–until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Where the Crawdads Sing

what i thoughtThis book. This book!! I don’t even know where to begin when it comes to reviewing Where the Crawdads Sing.  I’ll be honest, I only read this book because everyone on Bookstagram talked about this book daily.  I barely even knew what it was about, but I knew it must be good because the library waiting list was huge!! 😂  Where the Crawdads Sing was one of the best books I’ve read in a very, very long time.  It is truly deserving of every ounce of hype and praise it has received!

Continue reading

May TBR!

May TBR.png

Hello and happy first day of May!  I can hardly believe it’s already May.  Summer will be here before you know it! 🎉☀  Last month I decided to take a break from planned TBRs, because for the past few months, they haven’t been going well, lol.  Well, I read even less last month, so I’ve decided to give them another try.  I’m really hopeful that May will be a great reading month. 🙂

So, let’s get started!

Continue reading

Top Ten Favorite Books Quotes I’ve Read this Year

Top Ten Tuesday new

It’s Top Ten Tuesday again!  It’s a weekly bookish list hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl! This week’s topic is:

Favorite Book Quotes I’ve Read this Year

I love quotes!  A good quote can really speak to you and stick with you through life.    It’s so hard for me to pick favorites, though.  So, to give myself less stress, I’ve decided to only include quotes from books I’ve read this year!

So, here we go:

Continue reading

March Wrap-Up!

monthly wrapup

Hello! Today I’m back with another extremely late wrap-up.  Yup, that’s not a typo, it may be nearly May, but I’m finally sharing my March wrap-up. 🙈  For the past few months, I feel like I’ve been in this weird reading and blogging slump, where I want to read and blog and then I just do other things instead.  I’m ready to push through that, though, so hopefully the rest of the year will be better.

Anyway!

In March I read three books.

Continue reading

Spring Bookshelf Decor!

Spring Bookshelf Decor.png

Okay everyone, today is my third and final day as host for Bookending Spring 2019!  While I’m super sad it’s my last day as a host, today’s prompt is going to be so much fun!  Today we are talking all about our bookshelves.  I don’t know about you, but I love decorating my bookshelves – especially now that the weather is getting warmer and spring is in the air!  I definitely get the spring cleaning bug, y’all.

So, here we go!

Continue reading

Books That Remind Me of Spring!

1

Hello! It is day two of me hosting Bookending Spring 2019!  Lately, the weather has been so beautiful and it has really been putting me in that springtime mood.  So, for today’s post, I’m sharing with you all some of my favorite books that remind me of spring!

Some of these books remind of spring because of the content, others just because of their pretty covers.  Either way, just thinking about these books makes me think of spring!

Continue reading

Easter Time Book Tag!

Easter Time book tag (1).png

Hey everyone! I am so incredibly excited because today is my first day as host for Bookending Spring 2019!  Starting today, and going through Wednesday, I’ll be sharing some super fun and springy posts.

For today’s prompt, I’m going to be doing an original tag that I’m calling the Easter Time Book Tag!  This is my first time doing a tag, and I’m super excited to share it with you all, and hopefully you’ll join in on the fun and do this, too!

Continue reading

Book Review | Five Feet Apart

five feet apart.jpgTitle: Five Feet Apart by Rachael Linnincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis

Pages: 288

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (Nov. 20th, 2018)

Summary

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within five feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?

Five Feet Apart

what i thought

After seeing so many people talk about this book on Bookstagram, and then seeing the movie trailer, I just knew I had to read Five Feet Apart!  Going into this book, I didn’t know how this story was going to play out, I just knew it would break my heart.  Let me just say that this book did not disappoint!

Continue reading